North Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing
The “North Carolina Secure and Fair Enforcement (S.A.F.E.) Mortgage Licensing Act” as codified in
NCGS Chapter 53, Article 19B,
and also referred to as the NC SAFE Act, requires that the NC Commissioner of Banks ("NCCOB") license any person engaged in the business
of making or brokering residential mortgage loans.
A Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) is an individual who for compensation or gain in the expectation
of compensation or gain, whether through contact by telephone, by electronic means, by mail, or
in person with prospective borrowers, either:
- Takes a residential mortgage loan application or offers or negotiates terms of a residential
- Accepts or offers to accept applications for mortgage loans,
- Solicits or offers to solicit a mortgage loan,
- Negotiates the terms or conditions of a mortgage loan, or
- Issues mortgage loan commitments or interest rate guarantee agreements to prospective borrowers.
Click on the link below to go to the webpage that allows you to search for North Carolina regulated mortgage
Login to the NCCOB Online website to print an Approved/Renewed MLO license
Filing & Licensing Requirements
Filing Overview & Forms
MLOs should use the NMLS website
to submit a filing.
The initial license fee for an MLO is Two Hundred and Six Dollars and 25 Cents (including a $30 NMLS fee) for any portion of a License year ending
December 31st and includes the $51.25 fee to cover the cost of obtaining a credit report and conducting a criminal
history check. These fees must be paid through the
All fees are non-refundable.
Please see NC Prelicensing (PE) standards.
Education courses for Prelicensing and Continuing education are found
here in NMLS.
Who To Contact
Contact Christina Gering, NC Mortgage Licensing staff by phone at (919) 733-3080 or send your questions via e-mail to
for additional assistance with mortgage loan originator applications/amendments.