
NC Commissioner of Banks Office 
Mortgage Licensing Division 

Location: 316 W. Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 
Mailing Address: 4309 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4309 

Telephone: 919-733-0589     Fax: 919-733-2978     Internet: www.nccob.org 
 

October 16, 2009 

 

Mortgage Loan Originator Annual License Renewal Notice 

RENEW YOUR LICENSE ONLINE AT:  www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/NMLS 

BEFORE DECEMBER 31, 2009 

 
The Renewal Period will begin November 1st and end December 31st (11:59 ET). Prior to the renewal 

period all records must be up-to-date.  Under the provisions of the SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE), 

all licensees are required to keep all material information filed with the North Carolina Commissioner of 

Banks (NCCOB) up-to-date and current by notifying this office of any change.  We STRONGLY recommend 

that you review your NMLS record prior to November 1, 2009, and submit any necessary updates to allow 

sufficient time for our office to review the changes prior to renewal. Waiting until you request renewal to 

submit amendments or updates may delay renewal of your license. 

 

Under the provisions of the SAFE Act you are required to have eight (8) hours of North Carolina approved 

continuing education on or before December 31, 2009.  Mortgage Loan Originators (MLO) can check their 

education hours online by using the licensee search.  You should also check the website periodically to see 

if your credit hours are up-to-date.  If within a reasonable time after taking a course your record has not 

changed, contact the provider directly to ensure that the provider has submitted the education hours to 

NCCOB.  MLO’s with less than 8 hours of education are not eligible to have their renewal request 

approved.  If you have less than the required hours of North Carolina approved mortgage lending 

education, please obtain it promptly and before the deadline of December 31, 2009.  

 

Please note: A grace period for education is no longer permitted. MLOs will not have an opportunity to 

take Continuing Education courses after December 31, 2009, and have those hours count for your 2009 

renewal.  The list of NCCOB approved continuing education courses can be found on the website at 

http://www.nccob.org/NCCOB/Mortgage/Education/ContinuingEducation.htm 

 

 

Annual License Renewal Fee         $97.50 

 

 

All licenses will expire on December 31, 2009, if not timely renewed.  MLO’s that have obtained 8 hours of 

education prior to December 31, 2009, but have not requested renewal will be eligible to request renewal 

during the reinstatement period.  Reinstatement requires a payment of a $100 in addition to the annual 

renewal fee for a total of $97.50.  The deadline for reinstatement of a license is February 28, 2010; 

thereafter, a new application for licensure must be filed.   All fees are non-refundable.   

 

Once your renewal request has been approved, please visit our website at 

https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/LoanOfficerLogin.aspx to print your 2010 mortgage loan originator 

license.  The NCCOB will not be mailing out MLO licenses this year. 
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