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SUBJECT: Certification Process for Testing and Education in North Carolina

This memo contains important information regarding certification eligibility and the process by
which the North Carolina Office of the Commissioner of Banks (“OCOB”) will certify agency
approved mortgage testing and education data to the Nationwide Licensing System “NMLS”.
“Certification” is the process by which state agencies certify that licensed mortgage loan
originators (“MLQO”) have successfully completed state education and/or state testing
requirements in satisfaction of the SAFE Act pre-licensing “PE” and national and state test
requirements.

Testing:
State Component:

e (OCOB will certify your testing information to the NMLS if you have passed the North
Carolina test (PSI exam) since January 1, 2004.

e If you were grandfathered and/or you did not take the North Carolina test (PSI exam) since
January 1, 2004, you are not eligible for certification and will be required to take the SAFE
Mortgage Loan Originator State Test Component.

National component:

e All Mortgage Loan Originators are required to take and pass the National Test Component.
The National Test Component is not eligible for state certification.
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Both the National Test Component and North Carolina State Test Component are currently
available for enrollment and scheduling. Please go to the Testing Page of the NMLS Resource
Center web site for additional information regarding test enrollment, if needed. The deadline for
completing the test requirements is July 31, 2010.

Education:

Licensees that have obtained the 20 hours of NCCOB approved education taken during the period
July 1, 2002 through December 31, 2009, are eligible for education (PE) certification.

You may view your individual education and testing history here .

The Next Steps in the Certification Process:

After May 1, 2010, the NCCOB will submit certification files (education and testing) to NMLS for
processing that will include the data of eligible licensees. Final steps to certification by licensee:

e Pay invoice when received from NMLS (credit card or ACH)
o S5 fee for test processing
o $15 fee for education processing

e Login to NMLS to verify MLO record for compliance

Failure to pay processing fees by October 31, 2010, will prevent updating of licensee’s records in
NMLS. If this should occur, in order to be eligible for renewal a licensee will need to complete 20
hours of NMLS approved education and take and pass the NC State Component of the SAFE MLO
Test in order to satisfy those two SAFE requirements.

Other Testing and Education Requirements You Must Complete — Even if you complete the
certification process you must successfully complete two additional testing and education
requirements prior to requesting your license renewal for 2011.

e National Test Component — All licensees, regardless of their participation in the
certification process, must take and pass the National Component of the SAFE MLO Test.
The agency encourages you to enroll, schedule and take that test component as soon as
possible.

e (Continuing Education — All licensees whose PE is certified must complete at least 8 hours
of NMLS approved education in 2010 for North Carolina.

If you have any questions, contact the Mortgage Division at 919/733-0589 or email
mortgage@nccob.org.
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