
Education & Testing Certification Process 
North Carolina Commissioner of Banks (NCCOB) Office FAQs 

 

View your individual education and testing history here to determine if you are eligible for 

certification.  Select the Education History link on the left of the page to access 

information.  Only NCCOB information is shown.  Information completed in NMLS will 

only be shown in NMLS not NCCOB’s database.   

 

 If your record displays a “Y” and you have completed 20 or more hours 

of education you are SAFE PE compliant and will not need to take the NMLS 20 

hour course. Information will be submitted to NMLS beginning May 1, 2010. 

 

If your record displays an “N” and you have taken and passed the state test 

component in NMLS you will not need to take the state portion of the test again to be 

compliant. However, you should verify that information is recorded in NMLS. 

 

 

Q1.   I have successfully completed the 20 hour PE and annual continuing education 

requirements for North Carolina.  What is the next step to having this information certified 

in NMLS for compliance? 

  

A.  The NCCOB will certify and submit education hours for all currently licensed mortgage loan 

originators (MLOs) during the certification period that is scheduled to begin May 1, 2010.  As 

soon as NMLS processes the file, MLOs will receive an email notification to access NMLS and 

pay the processing fees for certification of these credits. 

   

Q2.  I failed to complete the 20 hour PE requirements for certification.  The education 

history search for NCCOB indicates that I have earned 16 hours of NC approved 

education.  What should I do to become compliant? 

  

A.  You will need to complete an NMLS approved 20 hour PE course by July 31, 2010.  

   

Q3.  I have been licensed since 2002 and was GRANDFATHERED into the system. I never 

took the state test for licensure; will I need to complete the state component of the SAFE 

Act MLO test?  

Please note: Grandfathered MLOs (were initially licensed and exempt from test and education)  

 

A. Yes, you will be required to take both components of the SAFE Act MLO Test: National and 

State components by July 31, 2010. 

 

Q4.  I took the state test in 2003 with PSI Examination Services, will it count toward 

certification? 

 

 A.   No, the test will not count toward your state test certification. You will be required to complete 

the NC state component of the SAFE Act MLO Test.  The state test component is required of 

licensees who have never taken the test or took the test prior to January 1, 2004.  

https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/LoanOfficerLogin.aspx


  

 Q5.   I took the state test on July 2, 2004 with PSI Examination Services, will it count 

toward certification? 

  

A.  Yes, the test will count toward your NC state test certification.  You are not required to 

complete the NC state component of the SAFE Act MLO Test. The test was taken during the 

permitted look back period January 1, 2004 through July 29, 2009. 

 

Q6.   If I have taken and passed the NC test during the period January 1, 2004 through July 

29, 2009, do I still need to take the National Component of the SAFE Act MLO Test? 

   

A.  Yes, All NC mortgage loan originators are required to take and pass the National Test 

Component by July 31, 2010.  See NMLS for detailed test information. 

  

Q7.  Are there study materials available for currently licensed mlos to prepare for the 

exams? 

  

A.  The NCCOB doesn’t provide any study materials; however, you should review the National 

Outline and NC State outline in preparations for the exams.  Also you may contact NMLS 

approved education providers for test preparation information and assistance. 

 

Q8.  What continuing education renewal requirement will I need to complete for 2010?  

  

A.   You will need to complete 8 hours of NMLS approved continuing education as a condition of 

license renewal for North Carolina by December 31, 2010. View course catalog and registration 

information in NMLS.  Pursuant to §NCGS 53-244.102(a), the course should include: 

 

 Three hours of federal law and regulations; 

 Two hours of ethics, including instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending 

issues; 

 Two hours of training related to lending standards for nontraditional mortgage products; 

and 

 One hour of North Carolina law and regulations 

   

Q9.   What is the cost associated with taking either the National and Unique State 

component of the test? 

 

 A.   The fees are: National component - $92         Unique State component - $69  

 

Q10.  What happens if I don’t pay the processing fees for certification by the deadline?   

 

A.  Failure to pay the processing fees will render your license ineligible for renewal.  

 

Login to the NMLS to view tests and education taken through NMLS. NMLS information will only 

be shown in NMLS not in NCCOB’s database. 
 

All communications are sent via email and it is essential that email addresses be kept current in NMLS. 
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http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/testing/Pages/default.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/testing/Pages/TestContentOutline.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/testing/Pages/TestContentOutline.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/education/Pages/default.aspx

