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 MEMORANDUM 

 
TO:  All Licensees  
 
FROM: NC Commissioner of Banks Office 
 
DATE:  August  31, 2009 
 
SUBJECT: North Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator Professional Requirements 

under the NC Secure and Fair Enforcement (S.A.F.E.) Mortgage 
Licensing Act, for all currently licensed originators  

 
The Federal Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (“SAFE 
Act”) requires all states to pass mortgage licensing laws and regulations that meet or 
exceed certain national standards.  More information about the SAFE Act can be found 
here: http://www.csbs.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=SAFE_Act.  On July 31, 2009, the 
North Carolina Secure and Fair Enforcement (S.A.F.E.) Mortgage Licensing Act  (NC 
SAFE Act) was enacted into law in order to bring North Carolina in compliance with the 
federal requirement.  
 
Under the NC SAFE Act, all individuals meeting the definition of a Mortgage Loan 
Originator (MLO), by law, must meet new licensing requirements that are in compliance 
with the SAFE Act. 

 

In order to comply with these new laws, there are four requirements all 

individuals acting as MLOs must complete: 

 

1. Testing 
 
All MLOs licensed in North Carolina must pass the National Test Component by July 
31, 2010.  
 
MLOs licensed in North Carolina on or before July 31, 2009, who have passed the 

North Carolina test since January 1, 2004, as part of their application process are not 

required to take the North Carolina State Component.  The North Carolina 
Commissioner of Banks Office (NCCOB) will develop a process by which to certify to 
the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS&R) that MLOs  
 
meeting the criteria above have satisfied the State Test Component requirement.   
 
In order to pass the Mortgage Loan Originator Test, which is comprised of two 
components: a National Component and a State Component, MLOs must pass each 
component with a score of 75% or higher.  
 

Note:  MLOs currently licensed  that were either grandfathered or obtained their license 
before January 1, 2004, that have not subsequently taken the NC state test, must pass 
both the National and State test components. 

 

Certified Individuals are still required to pass the National Component before July 

31, 2010. 

 

http://www.csbs.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=SAFE_Act
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/House/PDF/H1523v6.pdf
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2. Education 

 
The NCCOB will develop a process by which to certify to the NMLS&R that MLOs, 
which meet the education criteria, have satisfied the minimum 20 hours of education 
and are SAFE Act compliant. 
 
MLOs licensed prior to July 31, 2009, who have completed, cumulatively, 20 or more 
hours of North Carolina approved education (pre-licensure and/or continuing education) 
by July 31, 2009, may be certified by the NCCOB as having fulfilled this SAFE Act 
requirement.  
 
Individuals not eligible for certification are required to complete 20 hours of pre-
licensure education by July 31, 2010, as mandated by the SAFE Act.  
 
If you have already satisfied 20 hours of NMLS&R Approved Education in any one state 
or have had your prior education certified by another state, you are not responsible for 
the above education requirements.  

 

Note: Education from multiple states is not cumulative. 
 
The details will be sent in a separate correspondence at a later date. 
 

3. Criminal Background Check / Fingerprinting 
 
All individuals acting as MLOs must authorize a fingerprint background check through 
NMLS&R for the purpose of conducting a national criminal history background check 
through the Federal Bureau of Investigation on or before July 31, 2010.  This 
requirement applies to all individuals, regardless of whether you are currently licensed 
in the state or if you have previously submitted fingerprints for licensure.  
 
NMLS&R will implement a comprehensive process which includes electronic fingerprint 
capture with locations throughout the state.   
  
The details will be sent in a separate correspondence at a later date. 
 
 
 
 
 

4. Credit Report 
 
All mortgage loan originators must provide authorization to obtain a credit report 
through NMLS&R on or before July 31, 2010.  NCCOB will review the credit report 
provided as part of its determination of financial responsibility for each MLO. 
 
NMLS&R will implement a comprehensive process to obtain the required authorization. 
 
The details will be sent in a separate correspondence at a later date. 
 

Other Requirements 
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2009 Continuing Education Requirements 
 
In order to renew a license for 2009, (November 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009 
renewal period) all MLOs must complete 8 hours of Continuing Education currently 
approved by the NCCOB during the current calendar year (January 1 through 

December 31, 2009).  There is no longer a grace period for education. There will 

not be an opportunity to take Continuing Education courses after December 31, 

2009 and have those hours count for your 2009 renewal.  
 

Company Sponsorship of MLO Licenses 
 
The license status of all MLOs will be considered “inactive” until the licensed MLO is 
sponsored by a licensed company.  Sponsorship requests are submitted by the 
company through NMLS&R. 
 

Note: All licensed, inactive MLOs are required to meet all the above requirements and 
will be able to maintain their license under these new NC SAFE Act standards. 
 

New Surety Bond Requirements for Companies 

 
All MLO origination volume must be covered under a company surety bond which 
reflects the total dollar amount of loans originated on an annual basis by a company’s 
sponsored MLOs.   
 
In North Carolina, satisfaction of this requirement will be met by companies sponsoring 
state-licensed MLOs.  Bond requirements will be based on the total loan origination 
volume reported to the NCCOB each year via the Annual Report Questionnaire due no 
later than March 31

st
 of every year. 

  
We urge you to thoroughly review the new NC SAFE Act to become familiar with these 
new or amended statutes and date sensitive requirements, since they affect you as a 
licensee.   
 
If you have any questions, please contact our office at mortgage@nccob.gov for further 
guidance. 
 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/House/PDF/H1523v6.pdf
mailto:mortgage@nccob.gov

