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Dear Licensee, 
 
I would like to welcome you to our first edition 
of the North Carolina Office of the Commis-
sioner of Banks (NCCOB) Non-Depository 
Entities Regulatory Newsletter.  The goal of 
this newsletter is to provide timely and rele-
vant information of changes that affect our 
licensees.   
 
Over the past year, there have been  
many changes in our non-depository indus-
tries affecting all of us such as: the economy, 
our transition to the Nationwide Mortgage Li-
censing System, amendments to the North 
Carolina Administrative Code and the Mort-
gage Lending Act.  Our agency newsletters 
will focus on these types of issues to deliver 
pertinent and useful information in a timely 
format.  
 
The mission statement of NCCOB is to pro-
mote and maintain the strength and fairness 

(Charlie continued on page 2) 

Charlie’s Corner 

By Charlie Fields, Jr. Director 

 
Since the middle of 2007 in the wake of the 
mortgage meltdown and subsequent credit 
crisis, both the American Association of Resi-
dential Mortgage Regulators (AARMR) and 
the Conference of State Bank Supervisors 
(CSBS) established the Model Examination 
Guidelines (MEGs) to help provide consis-
tency and uniformity in the mortgage exami-
nation process.  The guidelines require the 
adoption of a technology solution that would 
help expedite regulatory examinations by 
verifying loans against numerous federal, 
state, and municipal laws and regulations 
such as anti-predatory lending / high-cost leg-
islation, Truth-In-Lending Act (TILA), and 
state consumer credit laws. 
 
After an eight-month evaluation process, 
ComplianceEase’s automated compliance 
system, ComplianceAnalyzer®, was selected 
as the automated examination system to be 
incorporated into the examination process.  
NCCOB was one of the first state agencies to 

( Examinations continued on page 2) 

Mortgage Examinations 

By Jeff Browning, Examination Supervisor 
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of the North Carolina financial services market-
place through the supervision and regulation of 
financial services providers in that marketplace.  
Providing a useful newsletter will help us in 
achieving our mission statement. 
 
We certainly welcome any feedback or sugges-
tions that will enhance these newsletters so that 
they may become a resource of information for 
our licensees. 
 
Sincerely, 
Charlie Fields, Jr. 
Director, Non Depository Entities  

In an effort to ensure our licensees meet the 
financial responsibility requirements such as to 
command the confidence of the community, the 
North Carolina Administrative Code was 
amended in July 2008, as detailed  by license 
type below: 
 
Mortgage Lenders 
Lenders are required to provide an audited 
statement of financial condition that demon-
strates a net worth of at least one hundred thou-
sand dollars ($100,000). In addition, if not 
shown in the audited statement of financial con-
dition, a lender must provide evidence of a 
warehouse line of credit of one million dollars 
($1,000,000) or other evidence of funding ca-
pacity to conduct mortgage originations.  The 
audited financial statement must be uploaded 
into the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System 
(NMLS) within 90 days after the company’s fis-
cal year ends.  If not shown on the audited 
statement, evidence of the warehouse line of 
credit should be mailed to NCCOB.   
 
If you are currently licensed as a lender but do 
not meet the new financial responsibility re-
quirements or are unable to provide an audited 
statement, including a warehouse line or ade-
quate liquidity, and wish to  continue engaging 
in the mortgage business, it will be necessary to  
file a new application for a mortgage broker’s 
license through the NMLS.  

(Charlie continued from page 1) 
 

 
Mortgage Brokers 
Mortgage brokers are required to provide a cer-
tified statement of financial condition that dem-
onstrates a net worth of at least twenty-five 
thousand dollars ($25,000). The certified finan-
cial statement must be uploaded into the NMLS 
within 90 days after the company’s fiscal year 
ends. 
 
A broker must mail to our office evidence (in the 
form of a copy of a bank statement or other 
verifiable documentation) that the broker owns 
and holds continuously cash or other liquid as-
sets in a demand deposit (or other liquid) ac-
count under the firm's name of at least ten thou-
sand dollars ($10,000) in an FDIC-insured fi-
nancial institution. 
 
If you are a broker and do not meet the new 
financial responsibility requirement, you should 
contact our office. 
 
Both lenders and brokers must submit a North 
Carolina Annual Report Questionnaire by March 
31st of every year.  The Annual Report Question-
naire is now based on a calendar year (January 
through December), and collects only North 
Carolina data and should be electronically en-
tered on the Commissioner of Bank’s website  
at: https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/
Default.aspx.   
 
If you have questions, you may call Teresa 
Browning at 919-733-6904 or email me at 
TBrowning@nccob.gov. 

Mortgage Updates 

By Teresa Browning 

Assistant Director 

begin incorporating both RegulatorConnect and 
ComplianceAnalyzer® into its examination proc-
ess. 
 
As part of the examination process, licensees 
will be requested to submit electronic loan port-
folio data through RegulatorConnect for analy-
sis by ComplianceAnalyzer®.  Licensees will 
create a Comma Separated File (CSV) contain-
ing loan data from originations during the ex-
amination period.  Most commercial loan origi-
nation software and loan closing software can 
automatically create the CSV file. Licensees 
can register at www.regulatorconnect.org to 
access more information regarding the CSV file.   

(Examinations continued from page 1) 
 

https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/Default.aspx
https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/Default.aspx
mailto:TBrowning@nccob.gov
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Fees 
 
How much may we charge for services? If you 
have questions about the fees that you as a 
broker or lender may lawfully receive from a 
borrower, review the provisions of the following 
statutes: N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 24-1.1A(c)(1)a.– f.; 
24-10(g); 24-1.1E; and 24-1.1F. Additional infor-
mation can be found on our website at:  
www.nccob.org at the Legal Compliance Link 
under Mortgage. 
 
Generally, if the fee is not one listed in G.S.  
§ 24-1.1A(c)(1)a. through c., it will fall under f. 
and the total of those fees are limited to the 
greater of ¼ of 1% of the loan amount or $150. 
If total miscellaneous fees exceed that amount, 
the loan may be considered usurious, the penal-
ties for which will be expensive. Even if the fee 
is one listed in G.S. § 24-1.1A(c)(1)a., the fee 
must relate to the name assigned to it. One may 
not charge a discount fee if there is no discount 
of the interest rate nor may you assess a com-
mitment fee if there is never any clearly detailed 
commitment (not a good faith estimate) commu-
nicated to the borrower. 
 
If the loan is a junior or second priority loan, 
including an equity line, total fees payable to the 
lender and broker may not exceed 2% and, de-
pending on the lender, may be limited to 1% of 
the loan amount. See G.S. § 24-10(g) for 2nd 
loan limits. 
 
Just because the fee may be permitted under 
the foregoing statutes does not mean you are 
home free; you must also consider the high cost 
and rate spread loan statutes. If your analysis of 
the terms of the loan causes you to conclude 
because of APR or other factors that the loan is 
covered by G.S. § 24-1.1F, then there are addi-
tional fee limitations, not only as to type (for ex-
ample, no YSP), but also as to amounts. 
 
Lastly, you should review the provisions of G.S. 
§ 24-1.1E which covers the fees that must be 
included to determine if the loan is a high cost 
loan. Generally, if the total of fees payable to 
the lender and broker (including PMI or FHA, 
VA or similar funding or mortgage insurance  

Education Updates 

By Mary DesChamps, Education Director 

Legal Updates 

By David Worth,  Staff Attorney 

 
fee, and any fees payable to an affiliate of the 
lender or broker or an attorney picked by the 
lender or broker) exceeds 5% of the total loan 
amount, you will be making a high cost loan 
which triggers additional disclosures and may 
limit the terms that may be placed on the loan. 
Failure to comply with those limitations may 
result in a usurious loan. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Initial Education Requirements 
 
Before applying for a mortgage loan officer li-
cense, an individual must: 
 

Complete a Mortgage Fundamentals 
Course approved by the NCCOB preceding 
the date of the application. Course consists 
of 24 hours of classroom instruction. 

 

Pass the NC Mortgage Loan Officer Test at 
an official testing center.  

 

Submit an application via NMLS and pay 
the appropriate fees online at: http://
www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/. 

 
Continuing Education Requirements 
 
Except for their first year of licensure, loan offi-
cers are required to complete eight (8) hours of 
North Carolina approved continuing education 
courses to be eligible for renewal by December 
31st.  
 
To facilitate a timely renewal and avoid addi-
tional paperwork, all loan officers are strongly 
encouraged to complete coursework prior to 
October 31st of each year so that these educa-
tion hours can be documented in the renewal 
notices which are sent out each October. Con-
tinuing education must be completed by       
December  31st. 
 
Failure to meet this requirement may result in 
loss of license or having to apply and meet all 
initial educational requirements, including 
the North Carolina Loan Officer Licensing test. 
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Q.  The renewal period ended February 28, 
2009 and my license has expired.  What are 
my options?   
 
A.  You must reapply for a new license.  If you 
would like to continue in the business as a loan 
officer, you must begin the process as if you 
were an initial applicant:  (1) take the 24 hour 
fundamentals course; (2) take the 100 item PSI 
exam; (3) submit application through the NMLS; 
and (4) forward a copy of the Authority for Re-
lease along with the processed fingerprint card, 
copy of course completion certificate and test 
results to NCCOB. 
 
 
Q.  It has been a difficult year and my com-
pany is considering closing. What are the 
steps to ceasing business operations in NC? 
 
A. See highlighted link for steps to closing a 
mortgage company in NC http://www.nccob.org/
N C C O B / M o r t g a g e / L e n d e r s B r o k e r s /
Instructions+for+Ceasing+Business+in+NC. 
htm. 
 
 
Q.  I wish to operate a "net branch" for a li-
censed mortgage company. Can I do this 
under the Mortgage Lending Act? 
 
A:  If you solicit loans secured by residential 
real estate in North Carolina, you will need a 
loan officer license and at least three years of 
experience in the mortgage lending business in 
order to be designated to manage a branch of-
fice, which may not be located at an individual’s 
home or residence. You must either be a loan 
officer employee of the licensee or you must 
obtain a sole proprietor mortgage lender or bro-
ker license. You and your employer should re-
view the Commissioner of Banks' Declaratory 
Ruling 2003-1 regarding "net branching" to be 
certain the arrangement you have with the 
lender or broker licensee satisfies the Mortgage 
Lending Act's requirements as interpreted in 
that Ruling. The text of the Ruling is available 
online at: http://www.nccob.org/. 
 

 
Q.  Is it legal to charge a fee for assisting 
homeowners with negotiating loan modifica-
tions or workout plans for their residential 
mortgage loans?  Is a license required? 
 
A.  Generally speaking, it is a criminal offense 
to engage in the business of debt adjusting as 
defined in N.C. G.S. § 14-423 et seq.   Prohib-
ited “debt adjusting” specifically includes fore-
closure assistance or debt settlement services if 
any advance fees are collected from the con-
sumer.  Therefore, it would be unlawful to 
charge upfront fees to negotiate loan modifica-
tions for homeowners.  
 
Creditors and their full-time employees collect-
ing on debts are exempt from this prohibition.  
In addition, certain other persons are exempt 
from the criminal statute, such as attorneys not 
employed by a debt adjuster and accredited 
non-profit credit counseling agencies in certain 
situations. 
 
Effective January 1, 2009, NCCOB will license 
and regulate mortgage servicers that may be 
involved in loss mitigation activities on behalf of 
a creditor.  While no license is required for per-
sons that act under an exemption, any licensee 
operating under such an exemption should con-
tinue to act with regard to borrowers in a man-
ner that comports with the requirements of good
-faith and fair dealing as required under the 
Mortgage Lending Act.   
 
The best practice if or when contacted by a bor-
rower seeking this type of assistance is to en-
courage him/her to contact a local non-profit 
housing or credit counseling agency (a list is on 
our state foreclosure prevention website 
www.ncforeclosurehelp.org) or by calling 1-888-
995-HOPE to speak with a counselor who is 
authorized to provide this service.  See loan 
modification and debt repair memo under latest 
news found online at http://www.nccob.org. 
 
Q. How do I print my license and/or view 

education history?  
 
A. See https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/
LoanOfficerLogin.aspx to print your license by 
entering your license number and last 4 digits of 
your social security number.  This page will also 
allow you to view your education history of 
courses that you have taken in past years. 

Mortgage FAQ’s 

http://www.nccob.org/NCCOB/Mortgage/LendersBrokers/Instructions+for+Ceasing+Business+in+NC.htm
http://www.nccob.org/NCCOB/Mortgage/LendersBrokers/Instructions+for+Ceasing+Business+in+NC.htm
http://www.nccob.org/NCCOB/Mortgage/LendersBrokers/Instructions+for+Ceasing+Business+in+NC.htm
http://www.nccob.org/NCCOB/Mortgage/LendersBrokers/Instructions+for+Ceasing+Business+in+NC.htm
http://www.nccob.org/
http://www.ncforeclosurehelp.org/
https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/LoanOfficerLogin.aspx
https://www.nccob.org/Online/NMLS/LoanOfficerLogin.aspx
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Check Cashing Examinations 
 
Bank Secrecy Act Compliance: 
The vast majority of licensed check cashers are 
also money service businesses (MSBs), which 
are subject to Bank Secrecy Act requirements 
(BSA).  Some recent examinations have noted 
significant deficiencies in BSA compliance, es-
pecially ones of smaller stores where check 
cashing is not the primary business.  As a re-
sult, NCCOB is making efforts to increase com-
pliance awareness and understanding in the 
industry. 
 
We are sponsoring an MSB compliance training 
session on June 9, 2009, at our Raleigh office 
for check cashing licensees interested in com-
pliance issues.  This will be an opportunity to 
hear from state and federal representatives, and 
ask any questions you may have.  More details 
are provided in the notice attached for licensed 
check cashers. 
 
The Financial Crimes Enforcement Network 
(FinCEN), a division of the U.S. Treasury De-
partment, maintains a website devoted to MSB 
compliance at www.msb.gov.  This site provides 
guidance, forms, materials, publications, news 
updates, and more. 
 
Please take advantage of these resources and 
also feel free to call the NCCOB should you 
have any questions. 
 
Consumer Finance Examinations 
 
Policies and Procedures: 
We have often described our examinations as 
either “top down” or “bottom up.” Consumer fi-
nance examinations have traditionally been fo-
cused at the “bottom” individual branch loca-
tions, reviewing loan transactions for compli-
ance, and transmitting report findings “up” to the 
licensee’s headquarters for adjustments to be 
made to fix the problem.  Over the past two 
years the NCCOB has conducted several cor-
porate style examinations where the focus is at 
the “top” or administrative level, reviewing poli-

cies and procedures pertaining to compliance 
with State law, where recommended changes 
and enhancements feed “down” to the branches 
in order to prevent future violations. 
 
Both styles of examination are effective, but the 
corporate examination style has brought to our 
attention the need for strong internal controls to 
prevent violations.  These controls include not 
only written policies and procedures, but also 
an automated system effectively designed to 
maintain compliance, a comprehensive training 
program, and internal oversight. 
 
All licensees are encouraged to review their 
internal controls and make any changes neces-
sary to maintain compliance.  Preventing viola-
tions and exception errors saves time and 
avoids the inconvenience of making unexpected 
refunds. 

 
Check-cashing license renewals for 2010 will 
begin online July 15, 2009, and will end Sep-
tember 30, 2009.  Renewals not received by 
this time will not be processed.  Our web ad-
dress for check-cashing renewals is: https://
www.nccob.org/Online/OnlineLogin.aspx?
System=CCS.  

 
Q.  How long does it take to for my applica-
tion to be processed (check-cashing, refund   
anticipation loan facilitator, and consumer 
finance)? 
 
A. Applications are processed within 30 days of 
the receipt of a complete application. 
 
Q.  Where can applications be found? 
 
A.  Applications are found on our website at: 
www.nccob.gov  –  and clicking on CON-
SUMER INDUSTRIES, then selecting the ap-
propriate application forms, etc., from the drop-
down menu. 

Consumer Industries 

By Branton Grimes,  

Financial Program Manager 

Check Cashing License Renewals 

By Rodney Oldham, Financial Program Manager 

Consumer Industries FAQ’s 

http://www.nccob.gov
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Mortgage Company License - Approved 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Mortgage Individual License - Approved 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Consumer Industries License—Approved 
 

 
 

 

 Mortgage Brokers   427 

 Mortgage Lenders   514 

 Mortgage Servicers     24 

  Loan Officers 8,265 

  Exclusive Mortgage 
  Brokers 

    
   406 

  Limited Loan  
  Officers 

 
1,149 

Check-Cashers     387  

Consumer Finance 
Licensees 

    83  

Refund Anticipation  
Loan Facilitator  
Registrants 

   874  

Money Transmitters 
 

    68 

N.C. Office of the Commissioner of Banks  
316 W. Edenton Street (physical location) 
Raleigh, NC  27603 
 
4309 Mail Service Center (mailing address) 
Raleigh, NC 27699-4309 
 
Phone:  
919.733.3016 Main Number 
 
Fax: 
919.733.6918 Main 
 

Mortgage  
 
Phone:  
919.733.0589 
 
Fax: 
919.733.2978 Mortgage 
 
Email: 
Mortgage@nccob.gov 
 

Consumer Industries  
 
Phone:  
919.733.3016  
 
Fax: 
919.733.6918  
 
Email: 
ConsumerIndustries@nccob.gov   
 

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System 
(NMLS) 
 
Web address: 
http://www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/ 
 
 
NMLS — Help Desk:  240.386.4444 
 
 
File a complaint at: 
https://www.nccob.org/Online/CTS/

ComplaintOnline.aspx  

Contact Information 

 

Current License Status as of 

April 9, 2009 

mailto:mortgage@nccob.org
http://www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/
https://www.nccob.org/Online/CTS/ComplaintOnline.aspx
https://www.nccob.org/Online/CTS/ComplaintOnline.aspx

