Exemptions from Licensing
Effective July 31, 2009, the “North Carolina Secure and Fair Enforcement (S.A.F.E.) Mortgage Licensing Act” as codified in NCGS Chapter 53,
Article 19B, and also referred to as the NC SAFE Act, requires that any entity engaged in the business of making
or brokering residential mortgage loans secured by North Carolina real estate be
licensed by the NC Commissioner of Banks (“NCCOB”), unless
The NC SAFE Act exempts individuals in certain situations, see frequently asked questions
and answers here. Depository institutions,subsidiaries
that are owned and controlled by a depository institution and regulated by a federal
banking agency or institutions regulated by the Farm Credit Administration are required
to file a claim of exemption in order to be exempt under the NC SAFE Act. Note that employees
of exempt entities are also exempt from the NC SAFE Act's Mortgage Loan Originator licensure
requirement and will be treated as exempt without filing individually to claim exempt
Notice of Exemption
The Office of Commissioner of Banks may take up to 30 days to process claims of
exemption. If there are questions regarding your application, you may be requested
to furnish additional information. The NCCOB will notify you regarding the acceptance
or denial of the claim of exemption filed with our office.
Notification of Changes
Claimants are required to keep all information on file with the Commissioner current.
If the information contained in an initial claim of exemption filing changes in
any material respect, the Claimant must notify the Commissioner within 15 days of
the effective date of such change.
Who To Contact
Contact Vivan Laney-Dobbin, NC Mortgage Licensing staff by phone at (919) 733-3252 or send your questions via e-mail to
for additional assistance with filing a Claim of Exemption under the NC SAFE Act.