Promoting strength and fairness in
the financial services marketplace

  • Licensing Information
    • Exemptions
    • Lenders and Brokers
    • Loan Originators
    • Mortgage Originator Support Registration
    • Renewal Information
    • Reverse Mortgage Lenders
    • Servicers

North Carolina Reverse Mortgages Authorization Requirements


Reverse mortgages are loans that are secured by a home's equity. These loans are commonly referred to as Home Equity Conversion Mortgages (HECM) and are available to borrowers age 62 years of age or older. These loans allow homeowners the option to use the equity in their homes to meet their financial needs. Federal regulations and North Carolina law require that counseling is required for reverse mortgage applicants. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development maintains a list of certified reverse mortgage counselors.

The N.C. Commissioner of BanksNCCOB regulates and approves authorizes North Carolina mortgage lenders (as defined in N.C.G.S. ยง 53-244.030(20)) to make these reverse mortgage loans

Approved licenses may be viewed by visiting Find Licensees.

Filing Overview, Forms, and Fees

Mortgage lenders shall request authorization to engage in reverse lending through the NMLS website by adding reverse mortgage as a business activity. An appropriate surety bond (see below) must also be included. Please see Forms and Fees for additional information. All fees are posted on the Fee Schedule.

Surety Bonds

A surety bond in the amount of $100,000 must be submitted with the authorization request. Please see Forms and Fees for more information.

Who To Contact

Please see our Contact Us page for contact information.